skip to Main Content

Historic & Cultural Preservation

Mission Statement

Consistent with the tribal goals of the Sovereign Muscogee (Creek) Nation, the primary purpose of the Historic And Cultural Preservation Department is to ensure the protection and preservation of valued historic and cultural resources for future generations. The Historic Preservation Office serves as the contact for statutory and regulatory compliance consultation regarding Federal Historic and Cultural Preservation Laws.

The design and operation of the Historic And Cultural Preservation Department is to conduct documentation and preservation projects necessary for sustaining an integrated culture. The tribe is committed to it’s historic duties, not just within the jurisdictional geopolitical boundaries in Oklahoma but also within the Southeastern United States that comprise the traditional or aboriginal territory of the Mvskokvlke.

The Historic and Cultural Preservation Department is within the Internal Affairs Division. The Department was established in 1995 under TR-95-01. It is located within the Education and Training Building which is located on the east side of the Tribal Complex along Beaver Drive.

Hofunvke Emvyetvn Vcayecvlke

Library/Archives

Under the direction of the Office of Cultural and Historical Preservation Office, the Muscogee Nation Library/Archives addresses the research and information needs of both citizens and non-citizens engaging in serious inquiry into Muscogee culture and history. The Library/Archives houses a collection of over 3,000 volumes of reference materials, an almost complete set of Bureau of American Ethnology reports and bulletins. 730 reels microfilmed records of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation from 1828 to 1840. Included in the collections are the Final Dawes Rolls of the Five Civilized Tribes, the Grant Forman collection of Oklahoma Pioneer Histories. Also in a special collection are the private letters of Pleasant Porter, the Principal Chief of Muscogee (Creek) Nation during the allotment act in early 1900’s. Due to the fragile condition, one of a kind, or limited availability of most works, all Muscogee (Creek) Nation National Library and Archives collections are non-circulating.

Cemetery Project

The primary purpose and mission of the Cultural Preservation Office is to ensure the protection and preservation of valued historic and cultural resources of the Muscogee Nation. One aspect of the Cultural Preservation Office is to conduct documentation and preservation projects necessary for sustaining and integrated culture. With this in mind, one project of the Cultural Preservation Office designed to document and preserve our cultural resources also provides and immediate benefit for tribal citizens.

The Cemetery Project of the Cultural Preservation Office provides cleaning for family cemeteries that have been neglected or abandoned while documenting them for the protection and preservation of these sacred places. Creek citizens that have family cemeteries that are overgrown may request and application for cleanup from the Cultural Preservation Office. The Cultural Preservation Office documents the cemeteries using photographs and Global Positioning System (GPS).

For more information, contact Charles Kelly at (918) 758-8441 or at cemcrew@muscogeenation-nsn.gov.

Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) Request

Cemetery Clean-Up / Fencing Project Application

Staff

Name Position Email Phone
RaeLynn Butler Manager Raebutler@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7678
Johnnie Wesley Administrative Assistant Jswesley@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7733
Corain Lowe-Zepeda Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (THPO) Clowe@mcn-nsn.gov (918)732-7835
Emman Spain NAGPRA Coordinator emspain@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7733
LeeAnne Wendt Tribal Archaeologist Lwendt@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7852
Turner Hunt Archeological Technician thunt@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7759
Gano Perez GIS Cultural Technician Gperez@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7761
Robin Soweka Jr. Cultural Resource Specialist rosoweka@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7796
Anne Edwards TCNS Coordinator Emartel@mcn-nsn.gov (918)732-7639
Odette Freeman Cultural Coordinator/Librarian Ofreeman@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7758
Melissa Harjo-Moffer Archives & Records Technician mmoffer@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7734
Charles Kelly Cemetery Crew Leader Ckelly@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7748
Robin Soweka Cemetery Crew cemcrew@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7748
Anthony Tarpalechee Cemetery Crew cemcrew@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7748
Brandon Butler Cemetery Crew cemcrew@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7748
David Proctor Part-time Traditional Cultural Specialist djproctor@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7732
Lois Hicks Part-time Office Clerk lhicks@mcn-nsn.gov (918) 732-7835

Muscogee (Creek) Nation
Historic and Cultural Preservation Office
Human Development Building
Hwy 75 & Loop 56
PO Box 580
Okmulgee, OK 74447

Phone: 918-732-7733
Fax: 918-758-0649

Monday through Friday
Hours are 8:00am to 5:00pm

Back To Top