skip to Main Content

Tax Commission

ATTN: Tribal Tag Holders

The Oklahoma Tax Commission, through various state law enforcement agencies, is attempting to identify vehicles with Tribal tags that are not principally garaged in the proper jurisdiction area. In the event a vehicle with a Tribal tag is stopped, the law enforcement officer will ask for your place of employment, home address and phone number. If it is determined that your vehicle is principally garaged outside of the Tribe’s jurisdiction area, your vehicle will be impounded and you will be assessed back taxes, penalties and interest. You should make every effort to insure that your ownership information is consistent with your residence and drivers license. Falsification of the affidavit of jurisdiction with the Tribe, by indicating that you live with Tribal jurisdiction, makes you liable for any impoundment, penalties or interest imposed by the State.

*Note: Effective October 1, 2018 lien fees will be $20 and replacement registration will be $5.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be an Enrolled Muscogee (Creek) Nation citizen
  • Must reside within the jurisdictional boundaries of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation Tax Commission deals primarily with the titling and registration of personal vehicles, commercial vehicles, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, trailers, farm trucks and trailers, and all-terrain vehicles.   Each citizen is eligible for up to two discounted vehicles; this includes veteran, handicap, and elderly.  At the moment, we do not tag boats or manufactured homes.

Payment Types:

We accept cash, check, or money order.  Temporary and out of state checks are not accepted.  Please write your driver’s license number, the expiration date, your date of birth, along with two phone numbers on your check.  At the moment, on-line or credit card payments are unavailable.

If you sell, trade, or give your vehicle away, take the tag off and inform the office so that we can make the tag inactive.

All vehicles (except travel trailers and All-Terrain Vehicles) require insurance.

We do not black tag.

 

Discounted Tags:

Citizens who are veterans of the armed forces, elderly or physically handicapped are eligible for two discount rates through the Muscogee (Creek) Nation.  Only two discounted vehicles are allowed at one time.  Switching of tags is not permitted.

 Required Documents:

  • Creek citizenship card (not the Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood (CDIB) card). With each
    new registration, a citizenship card is required. You may obtain your citizenship card at the
    MCN Citizenship Office located at the main office.
  • Valid Oklahoma driver license or Oklahoma State ID with current in jurisdictional address.
  • Current insurance verification. Verification must show effective date, expiration date, and
    vehicle identification number.
  • Original state title or manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO). Certified copies will not be
    accepted. If there is a place for the title or MSO to be notarized, it must be notarized.
    Creek members name must be shown on the title, either on the front as an owner or on the
    back as the buyer.
    If the vehicle is already registered under the Creek member’s name, through the state, and you
    are wanting to register your vehicle with Creek Nation, you must bring in your state title
    along with the registration papers from last year or the reminder card you get in the mail
    stating that it’s time to renew.
    We do not accept Salvaged titles. Be sure to look at the type of title you have, this is shown
    on the front of your state title.
  • If there is a lien on the title, the Creek member must be on the lien as one of the debtors. If not,
    you will need to contact the lien holder and get a letter from them stating it is okay to add the
    Creek member to the title, see Authorization to Add Citizen form.
  • If the vehicle was purchased from a dealership/car lot, they must bring in their Bill of Sale or
    Sales Contract from the dealer. If purchased from an individual, you will fill out a Declaration of
    Vehicle Purchase Price form.
  • If the Creek member is unable to come in and register their vehicle, he/she must do a notarized
    statement giving that individual permission to sign for your Creek tag, see Muscogee delegate
    form.
  • If you come in with an out of jurisdiction address, you must show proof of address within the
    last thirty (30) days by bring in one of the following showing the Creek citizen’s name on it
  • Utility Bill (Gas, Water, or Electric) *e-statements MUST show in boundaries service address
  • Cell Phone Bill *statement must be received at in boundaries address
  • Most recent on-going checking account statement * Must be within 30 days of current date, show activity, and received in the mail at in boundaries address

First Time Registrations:

New registrations require that the tribal member come into the office.  We understand that certain circumstances are unavoidable, such as work, school, etc., that will hinder the citizen from coming into the office.  In the event that this happens, the citizen may delegate a signature authority in their absence by completing the Muscogee delegate form.  Their delegate must bring this notarized form in along with a copy of the citizen’s driver’s license and citizenship card. Depending on what type of registration you are doing, there may be a different registration tax rate that is used in calculating your fees.  You may use this link if you would like to estimate a quote on your own or please feel free to call the office to have a Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent assist you.

Motor Vehicles and Motorcycles being registered for the first time are subjected to the following fees:

Administrative Fee + Registration Fee + Tax + Penalties = Total Due
$5.00 1 to 5 years $75.00 1.5% of actual
purchase price (A.P.P.) (as long as it falls within 20% above or below the average NADA retail value of the vehicle)
.25/day if
registered after
30 days from the date it was notarized
6 to 10 years $55.00
11 to 15 years $30.00
16 years and older $15.00

Commercial and Recreational Vehicles being registered for the first time are subjected to the following
fees:

Administrative Fee + Registration Fee + Tax + Penalties = Total Due
$5.00 1 to 5 years $75.00 .75% of actual
purchase price (A.P.P.) (as long as it falls within 20% above or below the average NADA retail value of the vehicle)
.25/day if
registered after
30 days from the
date it was notarized
6 to 10 years $55.00
11 to 15 years $30.00
16 years and older $15.00

***Owners of commercial vehicles must provide a schedule C or K-1 for the current income tax year.

Farm Vehicles being registered for the first time are subjected to the following fees:

Administrative Fee + Registration Fee + Tax + Penalties = Total Due
$5.00 $30.00 No Tax .25/day if registered after 30 days
from the date it was notarized.

***Farm vehicles must have a bed. Citizen’s name must appear on the Agricultural Exemption Permit.
Vans and sport utility vehicles may not carry a farm tag.

Veterans:

There is no registration tax levied on eligible vehicles owned by citizens of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation who present documentation that they are entitled to veteran status.  In order to receive our Veteran discount, the Muscogee (Creek) citizen must present a DD214 – Member 4 showing an honorable discharge.

To be eligible for our Veteran – Disabled discount, the citizen must provide documentation proving
100% disabled.

To be eligible for our Veteran – Heroism Medals or P.O.W. discount, the citizen must provide supporting documentation.

Veteran Discounted Vehicles being registered for the first time are subjected to the following fees:

Administrative Fee + Registration Fee + Tax + Penalties = Total Due
$5.00 Veteran $15.00 No Tax .25/day if
registered after 30 days from the date it was notarized.
Veteran – Disabled $11.50
Veteran – Heroism Medals $5.00
Veteran – P.O.W $0.00

Elderly / Handicapped:

In order to receive our Elderly discount, the Muscogee (Creek) citizen must be 65 years old or older.

In order to receive our Handicapped discount, the Muscogee (Creek) citizen must provide a handicap placard card.

Applications for a handicap placard card may be obtain at http://www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/pub/PDPPA.pdf

Elderly and Physically Handicapped Discounted Vehicles being registered for the first time are subjected
to the following fees:

Administrative Fee + Registration Fee + Tax + Penalties = Total Due
$5.00 $30.00 .75% of actual
purchase price (A.P.P.) (as long as it falls within
20% above or below the average  NADA retail value of the vehicle)
.25/day if registered
after 30 days from the date it was notarized.

Renewals:

Renewal letters are printed out once monthly as a reminder of when your decals are due.  You may renew your decals by coming into the office or by mail.  Payment along with your current insurance may be mailed to MCN Tax Commission, PO Box 579, Okmulgee, OK  74447.  Please verify that the effective date, expiration date and VIN (vehicle identification number) are accurate.  Please contact the office if you are mailing in a late renewal so that a Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent can calculate the late penalties.

+ Registration Fee + Penalties = Total Due
1 to 5 years $75.00 $0.25 per day after the
20th day of the following month.
6 to 10 year $55.00
11 to 15 years $30.00
16 years and older $15.00

Affidavit to Add/Remove Name

To add or remove a name from a title that has no lien, there is a $10 fee. If the title has a lien, you must get permission from the financial institution to remove or add a person.

Affidavit of Error

In the event an error has been made on the title, mark one diagonal line through that section and complete an affidavit of error. Any white outs or scribbling will void the title.

Authorization to Add Tribal Citizen

If a vehicle is financed without a Muscogee (Creek) Nation citizen on the lien entry form, this form must be completed.

Boundaries

Change of Address

To update your address, please use this form.

Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price

If you purchased your vehicle from an individual and a bill of sale was not provided, you can complete this form.

Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title

To request a duplicate title, there is a $5 fee. Only the persons who names appear on title may request a title. Dealerships may request titles with power of attorney documentation.

Family Affidavit

To transfer a vehicle to a mother, father, sister, brother, daughter or son, there is a $10 fee as along as the renewal is current. Please remember this $10 fee is only applicable for Muscogee (Creek) Nation titles only.

Lien Entry

*Note: Effective October 1, 2018 lien fees will be $20.

To add a lien, there is a $20 fee.

Lien Release

To remove a lien, there is a $5 fee. Please submit with title.

Affidavit for Replacement License Plate/Decal

In the event of loss, mutilation or destruction of a license plate or decal, the owner of such registered vehicle shall file an affidavit showing such fact and obtain another plate or decal. To request a lost tag, there is a $5 fee. To request a lost decal, there is a $5 fee.

Affidavit of Lost Registration

*Note: Effective October 1, 2018 replacement registration will be $5.

To request a lost registration, there is a $5 fee.

Muscogee Delegate

In the event to sign any and/or all necessary documents to obtain a Creek tag and title for a specific vehicle.

Muscogee Personalized Tag

Personalized plates may be placed on personal vehicles in lieu of a regular tag. You are allowed no more than five (5) characters, made up of letters or a combination of letters and numbers. To request a personalized tag, there is a $35 fee. To request a replacement personalized tag, there is a $25 fee. It takes about 8-12 weeks for tags to come in and orders are placed on the 1st and 15th of the month.

Repossession Affidavit

Please use the map, along with the search box on the upper right side of the map to determine if you live in the MCN boundaries.

Tax Commission Staff

 

Name Title Phone number Email

Jennifer Langley Deputy Tax Commissioner (918)756-6374
Fax: (918)756-6759
cntags.jlangley@sbcgolbal.net

Lucinda (Cindi) Fletcher Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent/SRO Sr. Agent Okmulgee: (918)756-6374
Wetumka: (405)452-1153- Tues. Only
cntags.cfletcher@sbcglobal.net

Michaelan Taylor Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent
/Assistant Purchasing Agent
(918)756-6374 cntags.mtaylor@sbcglobal.net

Carmen Burgess Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent
/Communication Specialist
(918)756-6374 cntags.cburgess@sbcgolbal.net

Kristal DeArmon Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent
/Assistant Purchasing Agent
(918)756-6374 cntags.kdearmon@sbcglobal.net

Elizabeth Kesler Motor Vehicle Revenue Agent (918)756-6374 cntags.ekesler@sbcglobal.net

Okmulgee

Monday – Friday
8:00 am – 4:00 pm
PO Box 579 (mailing)
1523 S. Wood Drive (physical)
Okmulgee, OK 74447
Phone: (918) 756-6374
Fax: (918) 756-6759

Wetumka

Tuesday 9:00 am – 3:00 pm
333 S. Washita, Room 114
Wetumka, OK 74883
Phone: (405) 452-1153
Fax: (405) 452-1159

Back To Top